Creativity and saving bucks, continued…

Standard

 

This particular room was originally designed to be a play room for G’s kids.  Turns out they wanted to “play” in their own rooms after the house was built.  SO…it became a catchall room.  There was a TV, a dresser the TV sat on, an old destroyed cupboard, and a terribly abused ping pong table thanks to Matt and his rowdy friends (and G and his). This room is an overflow room for the guest quarters.  I was sick and tired of looking at this drab room and decided to make into a common room for guests to feel at home and to have some peace and quiet if need be.

Before

 

Again, using items we already had scattered around the house, I spent under a hundred bucks.

 

First, I wanted to warm up the room and I’m currently obsessed with the color blue.  We have a nice oriental rug that has a ton of colors to choose from, so I picked an eggshell finish, La Fonda Villa Fountain (blue) color from Valspar.  Took off all the outlet covers, taped any hard edges (since a couple of the walls went straight into another color and the line needed to be perfect), filled in any holes with packed compound, and then sanded.

 

Note:  If you are putting a darker color over a white wall, you will need a tinted primer.  This only makes your job easier. Benjamin Moore paint has an excellent line of paint that will cover in one coat.  Reds are especially hard.  If you don’t use a primer or an excellent paint, you will be doing several coats to get it right…trust me ha,ha.

 

I took the dilapidated cupboard and decided to paint it and then antique the piece. By doing this I used a flat finish called Lunar Light (basically a very bright cream color). After that dried, I took an old rag and used Miniwax wood stain called Jacobean to wipe on the cupboard, then took a clean rag and wiped it back off immediately.  This process let the stain soak into the cracks and imperfections to give it that antique look.  I replaced the knobs with glass knobs and filled the shelves with simple decorations.

Before

After

 

Due to our ceilings being eleven feet, it is super hard to find window treatments that will puddle at any store without having to special order them.  So I made my own.  I went to Jo-Ann’s and bought seven yards of dark red (another color in the rug) taffeta material, made two panels and bought a simple curtain rod.  Gary and I moved in a beautiful futon and a very large beanbag.  I bought three fun throw pillows and tossed over the back of the futon a crocheted blanket.

After

 

All I need to do is add some art to the walls and this room will be one of my most favorite rooms in the house.  It’s a perfect room to cuddle up and watch a movie.

4 responses »

  1. Very nice, you are so creative & smart! I love the window with the arch, is there a terrace out there? You are definitely investing a lot of creativity & energy in your home, it must feel so nice to put in the work, and then get to really enjoy the outcome! I always feel inspired to jazz this place up after i read your blogs, Cassie! And i love JoAnn’s, there is one w/in walking distance of my house. I really want to try & cover my love seat & they have so much great stuff!
    +1

    • Thank you for your kind words. The arch window is a little balcony that looks over into the kitchen. We call it the biscuit throwing hole LOL! JoAnn’s does have some great sales. Plus, the store is full of inspiration so it’s hard not to come out of there with at least two different projects LOL! I would love to see your love seat when your done with it!

  2. Very nice, you are so creative & smart! I love the window with the arch, is there a terrace out there? You are definitely investing a lot of creativity & energy in your home, it must feel so nice to put in the work, and then get to really enjoy the outcome! I always feel inspired to jazz this place up after i read your blogs, Cassie! 🙂 And i love JoAnn’s, there is one w/in walking distance of my house. I really want to try & cover my love seat & they have so much great stuff!

    • Thanks AmyLynn! The arch is actually a “Romeo and Juliet” balcony that looks down into the kitchen. We call it the “biscuit throwing hole” LOL! You should spruce up that love seat! You will have a blast doing it…I promise :0)

Leave a Reply

